Skip to content

Skip to product information
1 of 3

The Piping Rock Singers - Requiem Mass - Missa De Defuntos Kevin M. Clarke, Director HDTT13535

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Svg Vector Icons :
The Piping Rock Singers - Requiem Mass - Missa De Defuntos  Kevin M. Clarke, DirectorThe Piping Rock Singers - Requiem Mass - Missa De Defuntos  Kevin M. Clarke, Director

The Piping Rock Singers world-premiere recording of the Requiem Mass (c. 1530) of 16th-century Spanish composer Antonio Gallego was made in the Roman Catholic Cathedral Church of Our Lady of Walsingham in Houston, a beautiful Neo-Gothic English-style building (2003) which is blessed with a superb acoustic for choral music.  The master recording, which can be enjoyed on the Blu-ray Audio disc, uses minimal mic technique: five-channel immersive surround sound, high-resolution (24 bit 192k sampling rate), with the five channels independently recorded with one microphone only (2 x Peluso P-83 omni and 3 x Neumann KM-83 omni) into each channel, with no additional mixing, equalization, signal processing, or artificial reverberation. This gives the listener a natural-sounding "ideal seat" in the Cathedral to enjoy the thrilling singing of the Piping Rock Singers! The stereo CD is a two-channel mixdown from the high-resolution master. ~ John Proffitt

Title: World Premiere Recording of the
by 16th-Century Spanish Composer ANTONIO GALLEGO
plus works by Clarke, Shewan, Knaggs, Gjeilo, and others
Artist(s): The Piping Rock Singers, Houston - Kevin M. Clarke, Director 
Recording Info: Recorded 15 & 21 May 2018 in the Cathedral of Our Lady of Walsingham, Houston
Producer & Recording Engineer: John Gladney Proffitt
Technical Notes: Master Recording in LPCM 24-bit 192kHz sampling
Microphones used: Georg Neumann (KM-83) & John Peluso (P-83; P-Stereo)
5.0 channel Immersive Surround Sound
2.0 Stereo CD Mixdown: John Proffitt
Blu-ray Audio Mastering: Robert Witrak
Copyright © & ℗ High Definition Tape Transfers 2022



Antonio Gallego (c. 1530) Missa de Defuntos (Requiem Mass)
1 Introito: Requiem aeternam; Te decet hymnus 3:10
2 Kyrie eleison 1:51
3 Tracto: Sicut cervus 3:57
4 Ofrendo: Domine Jesu Chrisre 3:11
5 Sanctus 1:05
6 Benedictus :40
7 Agnus Dei 2:01

Officium Defunctorum
8 Anonymous 16th century Parce mihi Domine 4:16
9 Anonymous 16th century Invitatorio de Maitines: Circundederunt me 8:34
10 Anonymous 16th century Invitatorio de Maitines: Regem cui omnia vivunt 6:41
11 Francesco de la Torre (1460 – 1505) Ne recorderis; Kyrie eleison 4:22
12 Juan de Anchieta (1462 – 1532) Responsorio: Libera me Domine 2:03
13 Dies irae 2:38
14 Requiem aeternam; Kyrie eleison 2:13

15 Kevin M. Clarke (b. 1959) De Profundis 5:29
16 Stephen Shewan (b. 1969) Virga Jesse floruit 6:09
17 Francisco Guerrero (1528 – 1599) Regina caeli 2:39
18 Daniel Knaggs (b. 1983) Ave Maria No. 13 – Regina caeli 2:55
19 Gustav Holst (1874 - 1934) Nunc dimittis 3:35
20 Ola Gjeilo (b. 1978) Second Eve 5:42
21 Francisco Guerrero Ave Virgo sanctissima 4:16
22 Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 - 1943) Bogoroditsye Dyevo [Ave Maria]
from the All-Night Vigil, op. 37/6 2:51
*23 Antonio de Salazar (c.1650 – 1715) O Sacrum convivium 2:45


Play Sample Tracks

This Product has the All in One Feature Click for more info